Social Media?

Day 2 of friends and finding out yesterday that my boss also went to NY 

Well, not only do I now so badly wish I signed up for that missions trip, I now just wish I was NYC. Clearly, it’s the place to be. 

So here I am at work. Trying to work but there isn’t much here for me to do. I feel like I have to right now just do a little in order to actually say I have a purpose here for the next couple of days. I definitely don’t want to write to my boss and ask if there is anything they want me to do. I want to continue working here, I’m finally starting to fit in. 

Here’s a funny story, Friday we have a show on here where they speak about pretty much anything and have a gift to give away and normally there’s food. Yeah, we are all about the food here. I answer phones during this. Normally, there isn’t many people calling, which I am thankful for. But sometimes the people who are calling to actually be on the air has called and it just is weird cause I don’t know how to respond to them sometimes. 

Now the funny story, after the show was over with there wasn’t a lot going on. One of my co-worker’s, Kristen, was talking about the social media breakfast and how we needed a speaker and she wanted someone to come up and speak. Well, I’ve gone to it and it’s different than probably what I would have normally gone to because last time I got trapped into going, but the entire time I was there I was texting friends and checking my facebook. I know that sounds bad but the people that go are over 35 and yeah I learned a few things but not really what I would have wanted to get up at 6 in the morning to attend a 7-9 breakfast. Anyway, funny story, I stupidly decided to tell Kristen, “oh well maybe you should hire me because I’m young and I know what young adults are doing these days. I use Snapchat, Twitter, Facebook, Google+, I have my own blog.” She had a look on her face and I was totally joking and then she said “yeah, you’re right, you’re hired.” Well, that wiped my grin off my face because I think I went white after that. Seriously what am I supposed to talk about now? And I’m curious was she serious? Should I really start looking into it and studying up on different social media? I haven’t talked to her since and maybe because it’s break she won’t be in, so I’m going to start studying up on everything. She gave me the idea to video some of my friends and asking them how they use social media these days, which I’ll probably do because there’s no way I’m not going to somehow put my friends on the spot. Some I can’t video because they don’t have that option but believe me and yes I am talking to you, my friend, I will still be asking you this question and may just bring up a few stories. 

I seriously need to figure out what to talk about, how social media is really useful. How one may use it. What’s the purpose of using that specific version. 

Til then, I’ll believe there could be another blog post today. 

Leave a comment