First Joke – Now Reality?

Last night at this exact time a joke between coworkers and myself was happening. At the time, it was all laughs because it’s been an ongoing joke between one of them and me. They would sign me up for Christian Mingle, since they both have boyfriends and we would go on a triple date. I said it more as a prank while, HW said I shouldn’t have told them that and AB would make the account. The butterflies started fluttering in my stomach when I realized it went from a joke to it could possibly happen now. Questions just started flowing through my mind, “Was I ready for this?” “What happens if I actually find someone who I could like?” “What if this isn’t something I want at all?”

To give a background story on my life, no I haven’t had a boyfriend. I haven’t been on a date. Never been kissed. Yet sometimes my friends come to me for relationship advice and all I have to say is if it wasn’t for movies, television, friends and family dating and telling me what they’ve gone through; I wouldn’t be able to answer anything without that. But here I am and still just waiting for that perfect guy.

After the panic went through my veins of what would happen, excitement of realizing maybe it is time for me to just go out and attempt the life of dating. I can easily stop it anytime I want and not have to go on a date with anyone. So I’ve decided to give it a shot. I, Chelsea, will be giving dating a shot. If family members saw this, I don’t know if they would be saying about time or what but I just needed to make this decision on my own without any help.

While the conversation was going on with my coworkers and I, there were multiple conversations happening with friends. I copied and pasted the same thing in each message, “So my coworker friends are setting me up a Christian mingle account, it first was a joke. now it’s happening.” Quite a few were extremely happy to hear about this. A phone call even happened. One said be careful which I totally understand. One said not that way in person would be better. Today I got the response from my sister and she said even on Christian Mingle there are weirdos out there. So maybe Christian Mingle will be taking the back seat right now.

Because I have agreed with a friend of mine, AA, that she can finally set me up with a friend of hers. I met him a year and half ago and that was when she first mentioned us getting together. Seeing as we both are single, I officially said why not and told her go ahead. I have no idea what is happening in her mind about how it’s going to happen, but I trust her whole heartedly. She wouldn’t tell me about this guy for quite some time and then decide we aren’t compatible. I just hope he realizes my obsessions with Captain America, Journey and Harry Potter. Either way even if we aren’t compatible, I made a new friend and I attempted the dating world. Maybe we’ll just start off as friends who knows. Maybe this will help me realizing that dating isn’t bad and I won’t be judged that I haven’t dated before.

Will there be a blog about the process? Who knows? I just hope my readers haven’t fully vanished since I haven’t been blogging as much anymore.

Leave a comment